Call Us : (989)750-1609
Lnguage :

Frequently Asked Questions

When it comes to your questions about self-defense, owning and carrying a firearm for personal protection, the licensing process, or responsible considerations for the armed citizen – we have the answers.

Of course we’re biased, but we really just care more.  Our Mission is to provide self-defense training that is comprehensive, affordable, and available to any responsible, law-abiding citizen. Our classes are kept small so that we can focus on each student individually.

CCW is an acronym commonly misused in conversation relating to a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL).  You would receive a felony criminal charge of  CCW (Carrying of a Concealed Weapon without a license) by carrying a firearm concealed without a license.  A charge of CCW can carry a 5-year prison sentence.

See the FAQ titled “How do I apply for a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) in Michigan” below.

Nope!  The CPL Essentials class is a training course that meets all the criteria to be used as the mandatory training element that is required by the State (Section 5j of 1927 PA 372) to apply for a Concealed Pistol License.  Successfully completing our training course is just one of several steps necessary to apply for your Michigan Concealed Pistol License

Applying for a Concealed Pistol License in Michigan is easy.

  1.  Determine if you are statutorily disqualified from obtaining a Michigan CPL, based on past criminal convictions, pending charges, drug addition or use, or mental health state.
  2. If you’re not a disqualified person, complete a training course that complies with 5j of 1927 PA 372, like our CPL Essentials Course.
  3. Fill out the Concealed Pistol License application.
  4. Take your completed CPL Application, Training Certificate and $100 application fee to your county clerk in person during normal business hours.
  5. Follow the clerk’s instruction about how to get fingerprinted.
  6. Practice your safe gun handling and shooting skills while you wait for your permit in the mail.

 

The full process can be viewed on the Michigan State Police website.

Confident Carry accepts cash, checks, credit and debit card payments.

An online payment of 50% of the class fee is required to hold your seat in the class.  Alternatively a check may be sent to your mailing address.  The remaining balance can be paid upon arrival the day of the class in the form of cash, check, credit or debit card.

Michigan has reciprocal agreements with other states to honor their CPL.  Since Michigan has a fairly stringent training standard, it’s Conceal Pistol License is honored in many states.

The Michigan Attorney General maintains a reciprocity map to help illustrate what states honor Michigan’s permit.

It’s important to note that you are solely responsible for researching, understanding and following the laws of other states when you’re in that state.  Not all states are like Michigan where, for the most part, there is a uniform set of gun laws in the state.  Some states allow cities and other municipalities to make their own rules.

It’s very easy make a mistake while traveling so do your homework ahead of time to make sure you’re going to operate within the those state laws.

The training certificate you receive after successfully completing the CPL Essentials course is valid for 5 years.  It can be used to satisfy the training requirement of a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) application during that time period.